I’m afraid this is going to be a bit of a mini rant tonight.

I do not go on Facebook all that regularly now and it has made a world of difference to my mental state now that I no longer need to see photos of people’s food, see what bar someone has checked into or see what ridiculous ‘game’ is currently being played. Currently on some social media outlets there is apparently a ‘game’ where people are posting a number and how proud they are (e.g. 3 and Proud). The thinking behind this is that it allegedly raises awareness of cancer.

How?

That I do not know. From what I can gather, people are sent a private message to participate and post this completely vague status on their profile but there does not seem to be any mention of the ‘awareness’ part of the ‘game’ in the status. This is where my problem with this lies. By all means play a game, raise awareness for a certain illness or charity or whatever you want to do on your profile page but if it IS for charity then at least make people aware of it somewhere. Whether it is a link to a charity website, or a phone number to call for information / donate money then this is acceptable. What is NOT acceptable is playing a game about cancer, or whatever the chosen illness is, and not doing anything to support people. I have personally lost too many people in my life to cancer, Alzheimer’s and other illnesses over the years and it is certainly not a game. Nor is it something I wish to joke about. What I have done is decide personally which charities I wish to support and how much I wish to donate to their respective cause.

One of the few examples of social media actually helping a cause was the ‘ice bucket challenge’ because when people took part they mentioned why they were doing it and for what charity it was supporting. This in turn generated a lot of media coverage for the charity involved and helped to raise an insane amount of money in a short space of time to fund further research into the condition affected. A good result all round.

With this in mind I have been questioning whether I should share a status on my own profile page. There has recently been a lot of talk and news coverage of mental health issues , particularly in young adults, and this has been delicately handled by the media. Members of our own royal family are championing the cause too having been open about their own issues with grief and loss. With my own issues I have always been very open to family and friends about my mental health and it has helped enormously but my issues with attention grabbing statuses is playing on my mind. The message reads:

My door is always open, kettle is always on and my sofa is always warm and a place of peace and non judgement, any of my friends who need to chat are welcome anytime. It’s no good suffering in silence. I have tea & coffee in the cupboard and a listening ear if needed .
You are never not welcome!! I’m sure you all already know this but everyone needs reminding that I have an #OpenDoorPolicy
Could at least one friend, please copy and paste not share, I’m trying to demonstrate that someone is always listening
#mentalhealth
#suicideawareness
#itsoknottobeok

I want my friends to know I am there for them but I don’t want to make a big song and dance about it. Surely my friends know me well enough by now to know I am here for them?

Decisions, decisions…………………………………

 

